NOTTINGHAM CITY COUNCIL

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

MINUTES of the meeting held at Tea Room - Council House on 9 May 2016 from 16.51 - 16.56

Membership

<u>Present</u> <u>Absent</u>

Councillor Brian Parbutt (Chair)

Councillor Azad Choudhry

Councillor Glyn Jenkins

Councillor Josh Cook

Councillor Georgina Culley

Councillor Pat Ferguson

Councillor Gul Nawaz Khan (Vice Chair)

Councillor Neghat Nawaz Khan

Councillor Leslie Ayoola

Councillor Mohammed Ibrahim
Councillor Patience Uloma Ifediora

Councillor Sue Johnson

Colleagues, partners and others in attendance:

Zena West - Governance Officer

1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Councillor Azad Choudhry – other Council business Councillor Pat Ferguson - unwell

2 <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS</u>

None.

3 MINUTES

The following minutes were confirmed and signed by the Chair:

- Overview and Scrutiny Call-in Panel on 30 March 2016;
- Overview and Scrutiny Committee on 6 April 2016;
- Overview and Scrutiny Call-in Panel on 12 April 2016.

4 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIR

RESOLVED to appoint Councillor Gul Khan as Vice-Chair for the municipal year 2016/2017.

5 TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Committee considered the Terms of Reference agreed at Annual Council on 9 May 2016.

RESOLVED to note the terms of reference for Overview and Scrutiny Committee.

6 <u>ESTABLISHMENT OF OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE SUB-</u> COMMITTEES 2016/17

The Committee considered the appointments and terms of reference of its sub committees (the Call-in Panel, and Scrutiny Review Panels) and the appointment of the five scrutiny chairs.

RESOLVED

(1) to appoint the following Councillors as Chairs of the Scrutiny Review Panels:

Councillor Brian Parbutt Councillor Anne Peach Councillor Glyn Jenkins Councillor Sue Johnson Councillor Azad Choudhry

(2) to approve the terms of reference and membership of the Call-in Panel and to appoint:

Labour Group
Councillor Sue Johnson
Councillor Azad Choudhry
Councillor Gul Khan
Councillor Neghat Khan
Councillor Glyn Jenkins
Councillor Patience Uloma Ifediora

Conservative Group Councillor Andrew Rule

Substitutes -Councillor Pat Ferguson Councillor Josh Cook Councillor Leslie Ayoola Councillor Mohammed Ibrahim

Substitutes -

Councillor Jim Armstrong Councillor Georgina Culley

Councillor Ginny Klein

Councillor Brian Parbutt
Councillor Anne Peach

- I. Councillor Brian Parbutt as Chair of the Panel;
- II. Councillor Gul Khan as Vice-Chair of the Panel.

7 APPOINTMENT OF CO-OPTEES ON OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY

The Committee considered the arrangements for co-option to the Overview and Scrutiny Committee and/or its sub committees.

RESOLVED

- (1) to appoint David Richards (as Church of England Diocese representative) and Ken Daly (as Roman Catholic Diocese representative) for scrutiny of education matters;
- (3) to note that Assim Ishaque has 1 years remaining as a statutory coopted Parent Governor Representative for scrutiny of education matters;
- to appoint Beverley Frost as a non-statutory co-opted Third Sector **(4)** Advocate for the municipal year 2016/17.

DATES OF FUTURE MEETINGS 8

RESOLVED to meet on the following Wednesday's at 2.00 pm:

<u>2016</u>	<u>2017</u>
6 July	4 January
7 September	8 February
5 October	8 March
9 November	5 April
7 December	•